Fat Loss Recipe of The Week: Spicy Salmon

4 05 2012

As I’ve mentioned before, about 80% of weight loss is the diet.  You can put in countless hours at the gym, but if you eat like crap, you’re not going to see results.

So with my first (of hopefully many) recipes, hopefully it gets you to not only eat healthier, but maybe even learn a new skill.  Hell, before I found some of these recipes, I was restricted to a George Foreman grill and a skillet with nonstick spray!

When I came across this recipe for “Spicy Salmon,” compliments of “Muscle & Fitness,” it was actually the first time I baked something other than a frozen pizza.  You can pretty much follow the directions from the link, so there’s no point for me to spell it out for you.  That being said, there are a few pointers I’d like to share from my experience:

  1. I tend to not like salt that much.  For my variation, I used a Mrs. Dash spicy blend, as most of those are either low in sodium or completely salt-free.
  2. Let the fillets cool!  I can’t stress that enough.  When you open up that tin foil, it is going to be a ton of hot air in your face.  Also, once you let them cool down, it makes the removal of the skin on the bottom that much easier.
  3. If you’re going to cook a few and store them away (something I do to save time during the week), I would let them cool in tupperware in your refrigerator for about an hour, then go back, open the tupperware and drain the juices that come from the salmon.  That fat tends to stick and become gelatinous if you let it sit in there, which is pretty gross.
  4. Feel free to mess around with what you put on the salmon.  I’ve done lemon slices, cilantro and cumin.  The beauty of learning how to cook a certain way is that it doesn’t really change, which allows you to fit your tastes.
  5. When you look at the nutritional info (per 4 oz. serving), don’t freak out about the fat content!  It’s the heart-healthy monounsaturated fats that you can also find in fish oil supplements.

With all that said, enjoy!  Let me know how it works out for you!

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 05 2012
cooktocure

This is a great way to cook fish!

I’d like to make one suggestion, before cooking food in foil, please line the foil with parchment paper to avoid aluminum leaching into the dish and into your body!
Acids in food eat through foil in very little time, as you may have noticed if you’ve ever left a pizza in foil, and seen tiny holes where the tomato sauce came in contact with it!

Cheers!

4 05 2012
nerdygymrat

Excellent piece of advice! Wouldn’t want a metal in your body.

Leave a Reply

