Friday Night Revelations

4 05 2012

Hey Everyone!

Hope you all had a great Friday at the office.  We’re still re-arranging the new digs (the coffee pot is still looking for a new home).  All I know is my “Back To The Future” poster isn’t going anywhere!

Anyways, I thought I’d take this time to impart some wisdom that doesn’t really fall into the “article” category.  When it comes to fitness, there’s always a bit of a sacrifice.  Maybe that means earlier wake up calls, two less drinks a week, whatever.  It could also mean getting a hard time from friends & family (some playful ribbing, mostly).  The key to get through it all is just to put blinders up and keep your eyes on the prize.

Speaking from experience, I know I had my doubts about doing the “Men’s Fitness” article early on.  When I posted that it was happening on my personal Facebook page, I got about 20 comments within the first hour.  While most were well-received, there’s always gonna be morons among the bunch who look at it as an opportunity to poke fun.  At first I was pissed because most of those insinuated that I was gay for being shirtless in a men’s fitness magazine (NOT that there’s anything wrong with it, if that’s your preference).

I happen to come from a family with quick-twitch anger (on both sides, actually) so my reaction was less-than-ideal.  I think “go fuck yourself” and unfriendings happened.  Once I got over being a pissy little teenage girl about it and stepped away to look at the bigger picture, the people making fun?  Pure…unadulterated…jealousy.  This isn’t my ego speaking.  Why was I getting upset that overweight slobs who live at home with their parents working menial jobs (to summarize a group of people, not all in one person) were making fun of my transformation?  I look at them, look at myself, look at them again, and all I could do was chuckle and take pity that they weren’t open-minded or willing enough to make changes in THEIR lives.

Anyways, I thought I’d share that bit, since I know that everyone trying to make healthier decisions in their life (be it working out, eating right, etc.) will run into this situation.  Just remember to keep your eyes on the prize and the rest will work itself out and you’ll be better off for it.

Anyone have these experiences?  Don’t be afraid to share them.  This is (and will always be) a collaborative effort.  We’re all in it together 🙂

I hope you’re all enjoying the posts, both on here and on Twitter & Facebook.  I love the responses I’ve gotten so far but will always be open to more!

Jonathan

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 05 2012
Derek Fish

In the internet world there are people who don’t have anything to do than just insult people. Best to ignore them especially if you are writing about Men’s Fitness.

4 05 2012
nerdygymrat

Very true. The results speak for themselves. I just want to make sure other people don’t lose sight of that. Thanks for the comment, Derek!

Leave a Reply

