What’s In My Cart This Week (5/5/12)

5 05 2012

Since I want to practice what I preach (I hate when people can’t back up what they say in these blogs/articles), I’ll let you in on what I’m going to be going through this week

Remember:  never go grocery shopping hungry!  You’ll end up with the always-delicious (but always-loaded with fillers) Publix sub or some other pre-made lunch.  I plan on eating some fish tacos at a local restaurant before stepping foot into my local Publix.  Remember my rules for survival today if you’re going to do the same!

Without further ado…

    • 6-8 Chicken Breasts
    • 2 lbs. Salmon Fillets
    • Fresh Salsa (I avoid Pace/Newman’s Own because the liquid-to-veggie ratio is pretty weak)
    • Lettuce
    • Tomatoes
    • Cucumbers (2)
    • Peppers (you can usually find a tri-color three pack at your local grocery store)
    • 2 lbs. apples
    • 2 lbs. pears
    • 5 bananas (for my overnight smoothies.  Potassium has been linked to restful sleep)
    • Bag of oranges
    • Blueberries (the ultimate sweetener for my morning oatmeal)
    • 1 Whole Pineapple (for what they charge you for a pre-cut, you can hack away for half the price!)
    • Carrots (I like to get them whole, then cut them up as sticks for lunches)
    • Wild Rice or Quinoa
    • Cottage Cheese (I usually go Fat Free or 2%)
    • Carton of Egg Whites1 gallon organic skim milk (no antibiotics; one of the things I HIGHLY recommend getting organic)

I know what you’re thinking: I go through a HELL of a lot of food in a week.  In fact, truth be told, I may need to go back another time during the week to supplement the list.  Since I eat a small meal every 2-3 hours, it’s necessary to stock up on the good stuff to avoid having to hit up the vending machine or cafeteria at the hospital.

So…what’s in YOUR cart?

Actions

Information

One response

5 05 2012
cooktocure

Hi. I love your blog and I wanted you to know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award. Keep up the good work!

The Liebster, which means ‘favorite’ in German, is a way to recognize your favorite blogs that have fewer than 200 followers. What a great and supportive way to get the word out about up and coming blogs!

When you receive the Liebster award, you are supposed to do the following:

Choose five up and coming blogs to give the Liebster award to. Blogs must have less than 200 followers.
Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
Post the award on your blog.
List the bloggers you gave the award to with links to their sites. Leave a comment on their blogs to let them know they’ve received the award.
Share five random facts about yourself.

Cheers! ~ Hoda

Leave a Reply

