My Interview With Natania Goldberg

25 05 2012

Here is the first of hopefully many interviews to come! 

Natania Goldberg is a personal trainer based out of Santa Monica, California.  She has been training trainers for almost 15 years, originally getting her certification from the National Academy of Sports Medicine in New York City.  Her commitment and dedication to the field was clearly evident from the second I started chatting with her, mentioning her work with local media as well as her executive roles at many major fitness companies all over the country.

What I found most interesting about her story is how diverse her athletic prowess is.  For example, not only has she competed in triathlons, 5k’s and other long-distance races…but also kickboxing matches!  She’s one of the few trainers I’ve had the pleasure to talk to that get that it’s more than lifting heavy weights and putting them down.

So without further ado…

Nerdy Gym Rat (NGR): What sparked your interest in fitness?  What made you want to turn it into a career?

Natania Goldberg (NG):  I started in the fitness industry at age 18 and never looked back!  Movement, exercise and the enjoyment of it was always something that was a part of me. I decided to turn it into a career from the day my first client said “thank you” you have changed my life! Making a career in making a difference …gotta love it! 

NGR: That’s what it’s all about to me: Paying It Forward!  What is one of the biggest misconceptions your clients have when they first start working with you?

NG:  That exercise is work, boring and will hurt! It can be if you like that kind of stuff 🙂 I believe in finding things clients enjoy doing and meshing that in to their programs so they enjoy it and stick with it, forever! As they say, take the “work” out of workout! 

NGR:  Yeah nothing is more of a turnoff for most people starting than it being boring as hell.  I tell most of my readers that nutrition (I hate saying diet) is 80% of a healthy lifestyle.   How much do you emphasize nutrition with your clients?

NG:  I do emphasize it with all of my clients. It is at times the determining factor in reaching or not reaching your goals. However, I do collaborate with my clients to not make drastic changes in foods, avoid deprivation and use coaching to establish change needed in eating habits to last life long. 

NGR:  What is the most gratifying feeling about training a client?

NG:  Seeing that turn around in them when they have reached a goal, feel better about themselves and in turn have changed their life for the better as well and the loved ones around them. Fitness, starting to exercise is usually one of the first action steps someone takes as part of a bigger plan 🙂 

NGR:  Ok, one final question, and I saved the toughest for last…What is the #1, all-time best piece of advice you would give to somebody who is just starting to work out and make that change in their life?

NG:  Just be you and take it one day at a time!

For more information (and for you West Coast GymGeeks looking for a trainer), she can be found on Twitter (@NataniaGoldberg), as well as her website and Facebook.  She’s always happy to talk to people and be as communicative as possible, so drop her a line and give her a follow!  She is officially part of the GymGeek Nation, as far as I’m concerned!

(If you are a fitness professional and you’d like to be interviewed for NerdyGymRat.com, drop us a line at thenerdygymrat@yahoo.com)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

