Your “Motivational Monday” Primer (5/28/12)

28 05 2012

Happy Memorial Day, GymGeeks!

Today,  I want to talk about balance.  It’s such a mind-numbingly easy thing to do that we often take it for granted, whether it be at the gym or in our every day lives.

This past weekend, I happened to be in Fort Lauderdale for the third time in six weeks (with four in eight coming soon thanks to a wedding I have to attend in Kentucky via Ft. Lauderdale International Airport).  Because of that, I’m not as readily available to the GymGeek Nation, since I’m not as attached to my laptop as it may appear during the week.

At first, I thought it would hinder my performance and my “street cred” with you guys.  Maybe you’re a weekend warrior looking for something to read and I’m not delivering as often as I should.  In the digital age, where it’s a 24-hour news cycle, it’s tough keeping an audience (if you’d like proof, I’ll show you the stats on the site and my fluctuation of followers on Twitter).  This really freaked me out, since it made me feel like a total hack and made me question whether or not I was really making a difference.

Then a thought occurred to me: I am always going to be the biggest critic of me.  That’s always been the blessing & curse of being me.  It helps push me harder to be great, but also knocks me hard on my ass when I don’t push.  The truth of the matter is I know I’m here for you guys (and those who have e-mailed me know it, since I respond in a timely fashion).  So if I miss a review or a tweet, it happens.  Just have to learn how to work around it and keep going.  The stats may suck on those few days, but I’m not in it for stats.  I’m in it to help and if that’s five people or 500, so be it.

In your lives, you should have the same approach.  Yes, I talk about how living a healthy lifestyle should be the goal, but if you’re beyond hell-bent for too long, you lose sight of it sometimes.  When that happens (and you have the fortunate opportunity of catching yourself), take a step back, breathe, and remember why you’re doing it in the first place.  In my fitness goals, it’s to not be the guy I was eight years ago, physically and mentally (low self-esteem, depressed and just overall angry).  For you, it may be that you come from a family where heart disease is prevalent and you want to fight against genetics.  Find a device that helps you remember that and take a few minutes out of every day to focus on it.  When you do that,  you’re less likely to let your mindset snowball to the point of cracking.

Well, that’s my rant & rave for this gorgeous day.  I’ll be on the road back to Orlando to get my shopping done and get my pieces designed for the Winter Park Health Fair this upcoming Saturday.  I hope everyone enjoys the end of their long weekend…school’s back in session tomorrow!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

