Supplement Review: Syntha-6

2 06 2012

GymGeeks…I’ve been holding out for long enough.

For the athlete, this right here is the holy grail of all post-workout nutrition.  I first discovered Syntha-6 as a last-second ready-to-drink shake at GNC before going out for the night (yes, I’m that guy who pre-games with protein…GymGeek problems).  What I got was 40 solid grams of protein with enough carbohydrates to keep me energized for the night without the crash of a 5-Hour Energy.

Syntha-6

Didn’t even need it carried to me by African swallows…

Granted, this was before I got super-serious about my fitness goals.  Now that I research the hell out of everything I put into my body (again…GymGeek problems),  I can tell you that it is perfect for any athlete or high-intensity fitness freak.  At 200 calories, 22 grams of protein (a mix of different whey types and caseins) and 15 grams of carbs per scoop, it’s a great blend to replenish your strength after a great lifting session.  On top of that, each scoop has 5 grams of BCAA’s and 10 grams of other amino acids,  your muscles will thank you!

This is one of the best-blended protein powders to ever have the privilege to be in my shaker bottle.  After 30 seconds and using both milk and water,  it blends completely with no clumps or sugar-esque crystals like you find in cheaper brands.

Taste-wise…holy crap.  It passes the Nerdy Gym Rat test (which, of course, is having a great cookies & cream option) with every option.  The best of the bunch is, without a doubt, chocolate milkshake is the best flavor.  I’d also recommend the mochaccino flavor, as it sure beats the hell out of a trip to Starbucks.

There is, of course, one catch: since it’s a premium powder, it comes with a premium price tag ($30 for 3 lbs. on Bodybuilding.com).  As such, I recommend it to any of my GymGeeks who are super serious about their workouts.  Otherwise, I’d stick to the whey proteins, since they are better for the beginner and the low-carb dieter.

Has anyone else tried it out?  Let me know what your thoughts are!

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 06 2012
storybookapothecary

Never tried this, but I would classify myself more as intermediate where lifting is concerned and def. more interested in a weight loss than a huge muscle gain, though I do want to be toned. How would I know if this is right for me given my goals?

2 06 2012
nerdygymrat

I would say for anyone middle-of-the-road, it’d be worth the investment since it has the right types of fats and carbs…two things that get a bad rep.

2 06 2012
storybookapothecary

yeah okay, thanks for the advice!

4 06 2012
f00dventures

ive seen this in our basement. my fiance works at GNC so he’s always always always bringing stuff home (which is great for me, that’s how i get my flax seed and chia seeds and all my goodies). i’m not sure what he thinks of this stuff though. our basement has turned into a pharmacy so after awhile, all of the stuff he brings home kind of just blends into one lol do you take glutamine after your workouts too or do you just rely on the glutamine from your protein shakes?

Leave a Reply

